playingdoctor: (numb <s>and in love</s>)
Umeda Hokuto ([personal profile] playingdoctor) wrote2006-07-07 09:29 pm

(no subject)

Okay, after a recent thread with Axel and Roxas where Umeda's in minor terror that he's lost their friendship (hah!) I feel it's about time to essay (Whee!) on Umeda, emotion, friendship. Again probably.



I'd like to start by pointing out that while Hana-Kimi is a high school comedy manga, with lots of gags and shoujo romance and so on, there is also a very strong underlying theme of unrequited love. As far as I recall, the ONLY pairing (unless you count Umeda's parents) who end up requited are the main one. EVERY OTHER ONE has heartbreak of some sort.

Umeda's main role in the series is as mentor, friend, and example of failed romance. He has relationships, but none that last more than a few months and none that he's looking for actual emotional connection in, though he clarifies that he has to like them and there's a minor contradiction there that really is part of Umeda's characterization and I'll get to that in a minute. His main romance is two-fold: A guy he loves but who doesn't love him (and I've essayed on the changes we see Umeda go through when actually in direct contact, but in short: Umeda gets very submissive/quiet/hopeful in his presence, and very angry when he's NOT there, essentially). And a guy who loves him but who he 'doesn't love'. (I think, and have also essayed on, that there's evidence Umeda loves him but hasn't admitted it to himself; that's how I'm playing it. But because he hasn't admitted it, the theme's still there).

Essentially, these circumstances and others have left Umeda really jaded. Take a look at his icon sets. He's able to be a bit silly, and can smile sometimes, but overall his expressions are variants on unsmiling/blank. Despite being in a comedy manga! He DOES have a good sense of humour, but it tends to be deadpan. He does get irritated. He does get sad, very briefly, but not in any depth that we see. All his visible emotions except anger are pretty muted.

Umeda's not really a happy person, even with his sense of humour. He'd probably deny that he's unhappy, but I firmly believe he's a little miserable all the time. He's not emo, he's just... learned not to expect anything.

Let's take a look at his life. He had the option to go on in schooling or get a better position, but he lost a bet with the dean and became a school doctor instead. (His future career, something particularly important with societal factors and so on, was decided on the basis of a loss). Sure, I think he genuinely loves his job even if he bitches, but the circumstances weren't positive ones.

He was originally raised to take over the family legacy, a tea house IIRC, but when he came out as gay, that was passed on to his younger sister instead.

He fell in love at age 15 or so, made out with the guy, dealt with the guy's severe emotional baggage to help them both, and then was told to forget about it. And led on (seriously, Ryouichi leads him on quite impressively. And Umeda caves to it) for twelve years.

He has a very large family, but talks about them a bit distantly, as a stranger.

He's known to mock people for talking about breakups as a positive, growth-producing thing. He doesn't believe people can really be content with what they have, but that they won't always recognize when they want more.

He works with kids and, like I said, it's clear he's really devoted to his work, but 99% of them are afraid of him / like to talk about him behind his back / joke that he'll kill or molest them and are only half-joking. Yeah.

In the interview, one of the questions he's asked is if he expects to fall in love with a girl. His answer is maybe a bit telling: "I don't expect."

And I think this is the basis of Umeda's thing. See. Umeda doesn't expect anything from anyone. He wants -- he wants things very badly. He wants Ryouichi's love but at this point I don't think he'd know what to do with it if he got it. He wants Akiha around (Let's face it, even AKIHA could be stopped if Umeda TRIED) but hates the very thought of letting him KNOW that he's wanted. He loves his family (the scene where Nanba is having issues with a failed relationship in the past, and Umeda is sneakily FOLLOWING HIM AROUND to check up on him? Yeah.) but he never talks about them in a way that isn't scathing.

Which, let's face it, is a giant, giant symptom of someone who's jaded emotionally. He wants things but is such a cynic that he feels that if he reaches for them, he'll lose 'em. Umeda doesn't expect; he also tends to not try, or at least not where people'll see. He'll follow Nanba around, he'll help Mizuki out from the shadows, but he doesn't want them to know he's trying. I'm fairly certain he's characterized in a way to indicate that he's used to disappointment so he doesn't want to behave in a way that'll get his hopes up.

That said, for all his casual relationships being short term, emotional things matter to Umeda a lot. After twelve years, he still won't give up on Ryouichi. He DOES want Akiha around (And I firmly believe from how they act that Umeda considers Akiha one of his closest friends. He's mean to him, but never tries to drive him off, which is how Umeda treats his FRIENDS). We know that he's still friends with his high school roommate, though they only get together for drinks now and then.

Even newer friendships are really important to Umeda, presumably because he DOES think long-term about emotional committments (ironically). He supports Mizuki and Sano's relationship despite, to all appearances, his emotional difficulties with a positive approach to love. Whenever Mizuki comes to him, even if she's interrupting sex, which has happened, he will stop and help her. There's a scene where her brother's coming, and she comes to Umeda, and. I'll paraphrase:

Mizuki: "I need a dress, he can't know I'm here as a boy."
Umeda: "I'M A TWENTY-SIX-YEAR-OLD GAY MAN. Why the hell would you come to me for a dress?!"
Mizuki: "I don't know! I just thought--"
Umeda: [apparently ignoring her as she talks, picking up the phone and dialing]
Mizuki: "...Ah... sensei's busy... I should go..."
Umeda: "Shush. Rio? Yeah. I need to borrow a dress."

We do, in fact, never see a friendship that ISN'T important to Umeda.

...Yeah. So, the question is, in camp where more people obviously care about him, and he's made more friends, if he feels he's offended 'em, what'd he do?

Well. He wouldn't let them know. This is part of the jaded thing. It's one thing to WANT things; it's another to let people KNOW he wants them. Disappointment's more disappointing when it's PUBLIC. He may have no fucking clue how he got into a situation with Axel and Roxas where they were both upset at him for taking his heart for granted (which I see as a bit ironic, at least, given all of the above... though I doubt Umeda would think it through that much since he's in denial over so much XD)... he may have no idea how he got into that situation, he may want to make everything better, but let's face it.

Umeda sucks at expressing his emotions. He's deeply clumsy when it comes to his own feelings. When things do come up he bitches, or gets gruff and shuts up, or strips, or smacks someone. He can talk about other people quite easily and at quite length, and believe in the circumstances they tell him, but when it comes to his own heart, he flops and flounders and hides behind walls of aggression and casual behaviour.

Because his defensive systems go into full system mode when he's in danger of losing something he cares about or wants. He really cares about having friends, but acts like it doesn't matter what people say about him or how many people hate him, and I think that sort of defense mechanism is a valid way of reading that contradiction.

That's my take on it, at any rate!




And while we're on the note of WHAT PEOPLE FEEL ABOUT EACH OTHER, let's do that reverse relationship meme! Tell me what your characters feel about mine (Umeda, Hakkai, Kubota) and I'll tell you what they think of yours. RESOLUTION TO ACTUALLY FINISH IT THIS TIME.

[identity profile] paradigmlost.livejournal.com 2006-07-08 01:46 am (UTC)(link)
Ahaha, Roxas loves you, rly. >: Lessee if I can be coherent! also please ignore my first comment, for I am dumb. D:

Ishida ... is still way conflicted about Hakkai. Uh. But! It has been getting better on his side, in an odd way that doesn't really have anything to do with Hakkai himself. He's mostly been getting along with Gojyo better (in an...Ishida-ish way) and really felt bad for the fight he got into with Kami-sama. Otherwise, I don't think they've had a lot of development recently? I haven't played Ishida as much as I could have, woe.

... he thinks Kubota is deeply creepifying. Deeply. And he has a sort of respect for Umeda, albeit a "god you're a sarcastic bastard and you also pwned me that one time >:(" way.

Mal hasn't talked to Umeda as much lately, but still thinks he's a fine doctor. In both senses of the word fine. Umeda's probably the doctor he trusts most (outside of Simon, anyway), and he still appreciates how helpful Umeda's been re: Robert in many instances. I don't think he's met the other two? If he did, it was in passing and my brain is made of swiss cheese.

Iiii don't think Sorata's interacted with any of them, except in passing. D: He'd like them though! And Hakkai hangs out with that nice Sanzo priest, right? Right.

Roxas ... ahaha. This is an odd one. On one hand, he's fiercely jealous of any and all attention Umeda gives Axel, especially anything that looks remotely romantic. And sometimes he's jealous of the not-romantic attention too. He went into their first meeting prepared to kneecap him and storm away in a righteous huff -- exceeeept it didn't quite go that way. Umeda kept talking to him, didn't laugh at him for the issues Roxas brought up, and was generally...awesome. So. While Roxas is still going to be a bastard re: any Axel flirtage, he still likes Umeda a lot. >: The argument from today threw him a little, but he's not going to actively hold it against Umeda.

If Roxas has met the others, I forget that too. Whoo!

[identity profile] itsmydesire.livejournal.com 2006-07-08 01:50 am (UTC)(link)
YOOOOO~ Uh, I think I only have two to address. Yay!

Chisame and Umeda Chisame really likes Umeda. She also respects him, and it's VERY difficult for an authority figure to get respect from Chisame; she's not big on that kind of thing. But Umeda's handling of the hospital situation impressed her, and put her at ease despite how awful she was feeling about the whole thing and then how very very pissed she was at Simon. Without Umeda around in that situation, things would have ended up even more badly than they did. Umeda handled it by getting pissed and lashing out and dealing punishment, but in a way that was upfront and made sense and didn't really torment or horribly guilt anyone involved and instead made them feel better about what was going on, and Chisame can respect a guy who can get a positive reaction from kicking someone in the face. XD That "WHAM! YOU IDIOT, THE FUCK WERE YOU THINKING I do this because I love you rly" personality is one that Chisame shares, so she can relate to it. SO. Chisame likes Umeda a lot and if she ever felt she needed to talk to a counselor, she'd approach him first. I NEED TO DO THAT AT SOME POINT. 8D

Tomo and Kubota Hasn't really changed actually. Tomo really likes Kubota! Also, listening to him not have sex with Tokitoh. 8D Kubota just seems like a cool guy, even if he's a little quiet and looming rly. She still remembers what he said about having to work at being friends with certain kinds of people, because it really made an impression on her, which . . . never happens har. It's something she took to heart and so Kubota will always be That Guy Who Understands somewhere in Tomo's mind. Also, That Guy Who Had Pancakes. ♥

[identity profile] itsmydesire.livejournal.com 2006-07-08 02:04 am (UTC)(link)
NICE KEYWORDS, MANG.

Hahah, Tomo wanted that eye. :(

[identity profile] itsmydesire.livejournal.com 2006-07-08 02:12 am (UTC)(link)
I-IYAAAAAN also Greed needs to meet Umeda y/n

YAY!

[identity profile] itsmydesire.livejournal.com 2006-07-08 02:25 am (UTC)(link)
YAY, BITCHES.

[identity profile] constant-craver.livejournal.com 2006-07-08 01:51 am (UTC)(link)
Oh man, Chizuru should walk in on Umeda making out with someone sometime. 8D

Hokay! Let's see here. Chizuru hasn't really met Kubota yet. She's...uncomfortable with Hakkai, mainly because she met him under REALLY UNSETTLING CIRCUMSTANCES, but she's not as down on him as she might be--mainly because he appeared to be pretty weirded out himself.

And, of course, Chizuru adores Umeda. Well, she was fairly irritated with him when he kicked Chisame and she'll still probably bring that up now and again when she feels like picking a fight, but most of the active annoyance there is gone and yeah Umeda is this pretty awesome (FOR A GUY) authority figure/friend who is really knowledgeable and seems to have a good philosophy, but who can also be just really laid-back and fun to talk to. Definitely one of her best guy friends at camp, in her own opinion.

Himeko thinks Kubota is AWESOME. He's really laid-back and quiet and sure Himeko may be the exact opposite of this but he always listens to what she says and talks with her without hitting her or anything! seriously and HE LIKES VIDEO GAMES. He's sort of like a black hole she can just throw her hyperactiveness at forever without him ever getting fed up the way, oh...99% of the people she knows tend to. XD Plus he's got a cool friend, Tokitoh!

[identity profile] constant-craver.livejournal.com 2006-07-08 02:08 am (UTC)(link)
JAWESOME. IT MUST BE DONE.

Hahahahaha, Chizuru and Hakkai need to have a really awkward conversation about that someday. XDDD

...H-Have I mentioned to you that Himeko's canon has an episode that involves a ganglord humanoid cow with a rocket launcher attacking their school? SCARY COINCIDENCE IF NOT

Also I need to get more of my characters meeting yours, eesh :O

[identity profile] constant-craver.livejournal.com 2006-07-08 02:25 am (UTC)(link)
...Good, that means I explained it right and ICly! Basically, uh. All these gang leaders (a Cow Gang Leader, a Ninja Gang Leader, and a Just Plain Gigantic [we're talking taller than the school here] Gang Leader) formed an alliance and attacked the PPD! cast's school because they heard that Becky, the child genius teacher and main character, was an upstart gang leader who was stirring up trouble. XDD

[identity profile] doctorquincy.livejournal.com 2006-07-08 03:06 am (UTC)(link)
Umeda

Haruhi - She thinks he's an ass, but has no real opinion on him.

Ryuuken - Umeda confuses Ryuuken. He can't read him and that drives him nuts. He doesn't really have an opinion either way, but likes his sense of humor despite his straight faces.

Hakkai

Ryuuken - It's been quite a while since they've last talked, but nothing's really changed.

Haruhi - Hasn't met him.

Kubota

Ryuuken - No real opinion.

Haruhi - Thinks he's a nice guy and loves the way he can make Tokitoh squirm. But, he's fairly normal and mellow which means he's boring.

[identity profile] beautytokitoh.livejournal.com 2006-07-08 04:32 am (UTC)(link)
god i'm such a masochist lol sure why not you were next on my relationship meme, anyway

Hakkai

Oh man, as it has been mentioned before, Gojyo is in a hard place with him right now, what with all these camp crises going on and him being a whore and making out with Yumichika among other things. Gojyo loves Hakkai, as a friend, as a lover, as a brother... as a brother. Pretty much any kind of affection Gojyo can feel for someone, he feels it for Hakkai. This includes the urges to punch him in the face and yell at him every now and then, BUT WE KNOW THAT'S IKKOU SPEAK FOR "I CARE ABOUT YOU" ANYWAY, RIGHT? And... yeah, we've talked about this a hundred of times, I think.
At this very moment, Gojyo's actually very scared of losing Hakkai because of camp shit, never mind people getting in the middle of their relationship, but "what if by some strange force of destiny, one of them is suddenly forced to live?" Of course, he'll never admit to this and he'd rather keep thinking camp will never let them escape, but ANYWAY. At least camping seems to be helping? |D

Been a while since the last time Akiha talked to him, but there hasn't been any impression other than "oh, that's Gojyo-san's partner, he's a nice person."

Tokitoh sees Hakkai as a weird not-clone of Kubo-chan. Sure they may look alike and stuff, but other than that, they're completely different.

Umeda

BFFL!! Umeda is one of the people Gojyo cares the most about and he's also probably the only one he's comfortable enough with to talk just about anything (not that he's not comfortable with Hakkai, but there are certain things that he feels like he can't discuss with him no matter what). He loves hanging around him, be it flirting, joking or talking about serious stuff. Also, for the record, yes, he would still tap that. >D
Gojyo identifies a lot with him and he sometimes wishes Umeda could just find his 'special person', because he thinks it would do him lots of good and Hokuto deserves that. >:
They haven't been interacting much lately because apparently we've been sucking at this RP thing other than the double-stripping with Axel, but we should fix this ASAP because I miss them being idiots together. ♥

Akiha... loves Umeda. WOW YES I BET YOU'RE SHOCKED. And we've talked about this a hundred of times too, but I'll say it again. Akiha loves Umeda beyond reason, he would do practically anything for him because the thing he wants the most is to see him happy. As stated in the random facts thingy, he's not really sure if he'll ever be able to make Umeda love him, but it's not as if that worries him too much. Akiha is happy just by being able to stay by his side and that's well-- it's funny because with your essay here, I realized that Akiha is exactly the same where it comes to "not expecting anything from anyone" (mostly because of his personal issues, but that's another essay >_>) so like I was saying. Just being able to be with him is more than enough for Akiha.
Also, I feel like their relationship has been in a funny place since after the wishing well incident. Not that this is a bad thing, but it does amuse me and I wish I knew how to explain it, but I'm so braindead right now waaaah. Clearly, I'll have to talk more about this later.

Tokitoh hasn't met Umeda yet, boo. :(

HAHA YAY FOR EXCEEDING THE CHARACTER LIMIT

[identity profile] beautytokitoh.livejournal.com 2006-07-08 04:32 am (UTC)(link)
Kubota

Gojyo think he's a freak and is more than a little disturbed by how he resembles Hakkai but not really (stfu, he'll never get over it). I should throw him at Kubo-chan again one of these days, because I love seeing Gojyo being all fidgety with him. XD

Akiha... hasn't met him, I think.

Tokitoh... lolz. HOW TO EXPLAIN THIS? Kubota is practically the only person that really matters in Tokitoh's universe, he trusts him blindly and he will seriously kill anyone that dares to lay a finger on him. Camp has allowed him to interact with more people and develop wacky relationships, but absolutely nothing like what he has with Kubota. As I've told you before, back home Tokitoh wasn't getting any good sleep because the bed felt empty and he didn't have anyone to cook for or to play with. He was certain that Kubota would come back, but more than once he had tiny breakdowns wondering if something horrible had happened to him which were promptly followed by "IF THAT IDIOT WENT AND GOT HIMSELF KILLED I'LL NEVER FORGIVE HIM please please let him be alright D:" Also yes, on a certain level, he's perfectly aware that Kubota is totally dependant on him and this doesn't bother him in the least, partly because he's Tokitoh and he's... well, special; and partly because to him, it also means that Kubota's not going to leave never ever. Right now he's really happy in camp, because even if they're trapped and stuff, they're still together and he doesn't have to worry about yakuza stuff putting Kubota's life in danger and whatnot, but I don't think he'll never openly admit to it because he doesn't know what Kubota's feelings on the matter are.

... Gosh, I bet none of that made any sense at all and I'm not even going to reread. NEVER LET ME DO THIS AGAIN AFTER I'VE ONLY HAD 4 HOURS OF SLEEP WTF.

PART THE FIRST

[identity profile] the-ex-flame.livejournal.com 2006-07-08 04:48 am (UTC)(link)
Axel and Kubota

They need to meet again, now that they both have their kittens. :D Axel kind of... identifies with Kubota fairly well. He finds his attitude and demeanour mildly strange and a little bit boring, but that doesn't matter so much, because they sort of understood each other. And he likes that.

Axel and Hakkai

They haven't really met, or if they did, it was shortly, and I don't exactly recall. But I'm just hoping Hakkai doesn't find out that he did a strip-tease with Gojyo. :D

Allen and Kubota

They had a lot more development in CFUW, hilariously. XD Allen is not put off by Kubota's strangeness at all. He completely believes that Kubota is a good person, and even if he does pick up on the... strange vibes, he treats him like he does anybody else he doesn't knwo very well. Persisantly friendly. XD

Allen and Hakkai

Hakkai was Allen's first real brush with... "you're a demon, but you're not all bad" at camp. He's rather uncomfortable around Hakkai (understandably), but... he still likes him. He's kind, and friendly, and... it's concerning. So Allen keeps an eye on him, but it also makes him THINK about the fact that just because somebody's a demon, doesn't make them BAD. Something he knows, yes, but it's interesting to think about.

Yumichika and Hakkai

Haaah... Yumichika has a sort of understanding of Hakkai, in a way, though he doesn't entirely like him. He's not really afraid of him, which is why he's possibly one of the only people in camp crazy enough to date Gojyo. It's not that he doesn't realize that Hakkai is dangerous -- it's that he's 11th Division, he's a lunatic, and he just doesn't care. Yes, Hakkai unnerves him, and can freak him back into his proper body, and all that good stuff. And Yumichika does think about Hakkai's feelings when he and Gojyo are getting their mack on, but... it's not like he wants to take Gojyo away from Hakkai. And he trusts Gojyo to make that clear to Hakkai. And.

... basically, it's more complicated than I thought it was. They sort of probably need to talk, because Yumichika is a crazy-vain bundle of issues right now, and Ikkaku's gone, and Gojyo's gone too, and. Hakkai sort of fits into the messy web somehow, but how Yumichika's messed up little head factors that in, it's hard to say. WHEE.

Aaaand I don't think Hughes or Ichigo have had much contact with any of yours. Because. I've played them like. Twice. :D ABOUT THAT. Heh, heh.

AXEL ON UMEDA IN PART THE SECOND BECAUSE I EXCEEDED THE CHARACTER LIMIT.

PART THE SECOND

[identity profile] the-ex-flame.livejournal.com 2006-07-08 04:48 am (UTC)(link)
Axel and Umeda

Axel really likes Umeda. If this wasn't, you know. Obvious. He clearly finds him attractive. He likes flirting with him. He likes that Umeda likes him back, and the fact that they can snark and trade blows and still smile at each other at the end of it. Basically, they're both total jerks with creamy, gooey centres, and they have sexy, snarky fun. And it's a blast.

... on a slightly deeper level, Axel is starting to actually care about Umeda as a friend, and this concerns him, somewhat. Roxas is his best friend, his boyfriend, his everything. Riku, Namine and Sora factor into the "also important" scheme of things, because, well. They're Part Of Everything. But he never really expected people from camp to actually become important to him, because that starts messing with all the ideas built up about Nobodies, and it's just complicated. As long as he and Umeda are just flirting and snarking and whatnot, it's okay. Things are normal. It's a relationship sort of like the one he has with Larxene, except with less malice and more, you know. Cock.

Except that it's not. Because Umeda and Axel go from bitching and snarking to talking about love. And Axel actually finds himself trusting Umeda, and he doesn't trust anybody except Roxas, and maybe Sora. So it's really just sort of a bitch, because... it brings up a lot of questions about how much Nobodies are allowed to feel, which Axel is already struggling with because of Roxas.

In short! Next to Roxas, Umeda is definitely the person Axel most enjoys spending time with in camp. He's also second in terms of who Axel wants really, really badly to bang. However, Axel and Umeda both know that they're just... totally unavailable to each other in the romantic sense, which makes Axel all the more comfortable just doing... whatever.

They are kind of good for each other, maybe.

[identity profile] patria-ou-mort.livejournal.com 2006-07-08 04:54 am (UTC)(link)
I think I've said this before (for Hakkai, iirc), but I love reading your character essays. I am an essay whore, whut. Okay, moving on.

Maladict

Has only met Umeda, really. *was so sad that I died before being able to really talk with Kubota* But Mal really enjoys Umeda's company. He's his type of person -- smart, sharp, snarky and bad-ass-but-not-more-bad-ass-than-him, sort of like Polly, his canon BFF, actually. XD Umeda [SPOILER]ing him did throw him, but once Umeda showed that he didn't really care and didn't seem like he would use it against him? Maladict holds a small amount of respect for Umeda now. And, despite generally being a genial sort, I don't think he actually respects many people as individuals in their own right (most people are just "oh, aren't you cute, are you still amusing me, if not, I'm moving on"). If Maladict is feeling bored, etc., Umeda is on his list of people to seek out.


Enjolras

Hakkai

...creepy neighbor, whut. XD Intelligent, pleasant and off -- you know, just a gut feeling heavily aided by Hakkai being his creepy self at times. As far as neighbors go, there could be far worse. But he does tread carefully around him. He doesn't know Hakkai's whole story and Hakkai hasn't done anything wrong in camp as far as Enjolras can tell, so he'll always be civil to him and help him find his eyeball if he loses it again, but he'll probably never trust him.


Umeda

...ahaha, saved this one for last. Um. It (finally) hit me tonight, partly thanks to this essay of yours here, that Umeda is like an amalgam of the two most significant people in Enjolras's life at home. Er. Wow, this is tough to do without writing an Enjolras/Combeferre and Enjolras/Grantaire essay like the one I've had partially-finished for a few weeks now. But the short version is that for Enjolras, Umeda is a mix of characteristics that make him comfortable and characteristics that... provoke him, I guess. The main result of this is that hanging out with Umeda makes Enjolras a bit more... normal, I suppose. (And re-reading my canon always reminds me of how much Enjolras is anything but normal. Seriously. He's sort of freaky.) Tugs him back into the spectrum of something-like-human. Umeda is on the short-list of people whose leaving camp would make him truly a little bit sad.

... and yeah, really can't do this properly without blabbing about Combeferre and Grantaire. So. I'll just have to get that essay done soon, and then it will all make sense. -_-;;

[identity profile] patria-ou-mort.livejournal.com 2006-12-01 06:07 am (UTC)(link)
And. So that it may be written in the history books that I am a woman of my word.

OVER FOUR AND A HALF MONTHS LATER.

Part One and Part Two. Arbitrarily divided because I hit the entry length limit.

...no expectations of anyone necessarily reading it. Because it's long. Just. Needed to clear my honor here. Or something.

[identity profile] naughtwitchis.livejournal.com 2006-07-11 08:40 am (UTC)(link)
Woohoo! I CAN REPLY NOW.

Naminé has met only, uh, Marluxia. Ha ha ha!

She doesn't trust him half as far as she can throw him, and she can't even pick him up, SO. She knows that he isn't likely to start anything, not with several people who can destroy him around, but she is definitely going to be wary of him, and watching him for more subtle attempts to do Nasty Things to her and her loved ones. Including Axel. She doesn't hate him - but she doesn't like him, and she won't ever be his friend. Not that he really wants her to be, I'd imagine~ ♥

Also, badtouched by his vines. D: Woe.
bisexualorchid: (how magnanimous am I)

[personal profile] bisexualorchid 2006-07-18 01:15 am (UTC)(link)
Marluxia doesn't really hate Namine any more, but he's still none too happy with her. I know we talked about trust and betrayal the other day, and I seriously do not think it even crossed his mind that Namine would actually betray him, so he's all kinds of hurt/offended/bitter about that. That said, he KNOWS he can't do anything about it like kill her here, so he's been swallowing that back as sharply as he can, and -- well, balseraphing himself into being able to handle her, basically. XD While he wouldn't want to be her FRIEND, he would like her on his side again, so he'll probably alternate between the waspish irritable guilt-trippy comments and the "my dear sweet pet" type moments for a little while, at least. XD

(He is such a bal.)

[identity profile] death-backpack.livejournal.com 2006-07-18 06:58 am (UTC)(link)
Umeda

Yachiru - thinks Umeda's strange in a good way! She gets confused by what he does sometimes (the laughing fit over Axel's nickname prompted a mental 'eh?') but overall she finds him funny. Also very helpful, so he's one of the people she'll go to when she wants to find out stuff. Haha, fictional bedfighting. ♥

Hakkai

Yachiru - only met him briefly. She's been left with the impression that he takes people's freaking kidneys. He is therefore awesome.

Kubota

Yuma - met him briefly! She thinks he's a nice, normal young man and that's about it for now.

Marluxia

Yachiru - PANSY-NEECHAN.

Yuma - Marluxia is very very pretty and, well, Yuma has a slightly underdeveloped danger sense anyway and her experience with the rest of the KH cast has been pretty positive. She'll treat him a bit like she treats Axel--friendly but cautious--unless he cuts her arm off or something. XD

[identity profile] death-backpack.livejournal.com 2006-07-18 07:23 am (UTC)(link)
Marluxia and Yachiru haven't met yet. I just needed the nickname down somewhere before I forgot. XD

And the photos? Yuma's not the type to show them to everybody, actually! She shares them with Saya but that's about it. (Of course, one day there could be a post where all the pictures get plastered over camp but then they might get lynched, ahaha.)

We really do need to interact more!

[identity profile] aviy.livejournal.com 2006-07-18 10:51 pm (UTC)(link)
Okay, they haven't interacted much, but they have history anyway SO WHY NOT

Riku on Marluxia -

I shouldn't do this when braindead.

SO THE WAY IT GOES is Riku, despite what he says, trusts nobodies about as far as he can throw them, and this has as much to do with them being effectively heartless as it has to do with having evil dastardly plans. And this is a universal mark off EVERYONE, including Roxas... (but okay not including Namine). Riku genuinely belives that Axel loves Roxas, and in that sense has a heart, but he also believes that Axel only genuinely cares about Roxas, which makes him dangerous to everyone else. So while, Riku won't think Marluxia is definitely evil just cause he's a nobody, he believes Marluxia is capable of sacrificing anything or everything for whatever it his he loves.

Riku especially feels capable of judging on this matter because he relates to it. Riku knows that he feels closer to a Nobody than a regular person on some days, especially when he remembers his past actions (Which is every day). But Riku's settled with himself. He trusts himself. He doesn't trust them. These people like himself who are fighting for causes and people that aren't important to him.

So that's just nobodies, then we have Marluxia himself.

Smarmy, confident, manipulative, dangerous, and just stinks of darkness. And understand while Marluxia isn't PURE UNENDING EVIL that doesn't matter to Riku much. He doens't look at it as "the pure evil ones are worse" all he sees is A) light or dark? and if dark B) how dangerous? The amount of darkness is irrelevant to him, if it's enough that you would hurt someone he cares about, then it's enough he puts all such people on the same level. Marluxia has clearly enough, and while Axel fucked Marluxia up, and then Sora fucked Marluxia up, Riku isn't stupid enough to realize that means you aren't a threat anymore.

Furthermore, Riku talked to Axel who told him in no uncertain terms that Marluxia would not forgive or forget Sora's trangressions against him. At this current point, whether or not that is true is irrelevent. Riku was wary to begin with, and he trusts Axel, if Axel says that then Riku believes it and will treat it as a fact until he has reason to act otherwise.

SO! In Riku's head Marluxia is probably the current greatest threat to Sora in camp, and yet has gone off and MADE FRIENDS with Sora. Riku will talk to Sora about this once I get a chance. But in the mean time Riku is at least satisfied knowing Marluxia is the manipulative type and probably won't just jump out of the dark one night and try to stab Sora in the back. Mostly because slow attacks like Marluxia's leave more openings to be spotted if you know to look for it, and Riku will be looking.

In the mean time, Riku is perfectly capable of having civil, if venemous conversation with him! Riku can keep himself in check, and won't outright attack Marluxia without a good reason. However, he likely also won't play his games. It's not that Riku CAN'T play mindgames, he just really prefers to say things outright. So Marluxia can subtle at him and Riku will just be flat out honest.

But! When Marluxia chooses to play his cards as he will, and loses his only defense (his supposed reformation), or the instant Riku suspects Marluxia has made himself an honest threat to anyone, or is immediately intending to, Riku will cut him down without hestitation or mercy. Likely, in this case, he would ignore Sora if Sora were to try to stop him.

I wouldn't say, though, that Marluxia's presense makes Riku exactly nervous. He just isn't the neverous type. It doesn't mean that Riku doesn't regard Marluxia as a serious threat, it's just that A) he fully believes himself capable of defeating Marluxia if necessary and B) even if he wasn't, Sora would win out ultimately anyway. That B part there is enough to keep Riku from ever seriously being worried about anything. Mostly he's pissed off that Marluxia is manipulating his stupid best friend.
bisexualorchid: (dead girls don't say no)

[personal profile] bisexualorchid 2006-07-18 11:26 pm (UTC)(link)
H-hi, essay!

Marluxia is well aware that Riku's quite dangerous and a probable threat, but he isn't particularly letting it trouble him. Marluxia is very good at actually getting troubled by threats right up to the point where they're keyblading him in the face.

So far, Marluxia's sort of ...enjoyed talking to Riku, in a faintly masochistic smug way, because he fully doesn't intend to do anything to actively hurt or upset his pet keyblade master. Now, whether this is HOW IT ACTUALLY GOES is really in question, since he totally didn't think he was doing anything to Namine, for example, that'd make her want to betray him.

He knows that Riku has a dark past, and has seen Sora's memories of Riku's actions in the game; the Organization, too, was keeping relatively close tabs on the events of game 1 (hence Vexen knowing to draw from the 'other side' of Sora's heart, or the others in the castle being like "HOHSHIT THIS ISN'T GOOD", and so forth and so on), so while Marluxia probably doesn't have first-hand knowledge of anything, he at least knows some details of Riku's DARK PAST.

He also has a good idea that Riku IS the type of character who would... you know. Just like the Nobodies, do anything in the name of whatever he loves. He sort of admires that, in a way.

So, basically. In summary, Marluxia isn't terribly worried by Riku, though he knows he's dangerous, but is intrigued by him, and also sort of smug/victorious because he feels while Sora is his friend, he can keep Riku one step away from harming him.

Basically. XD

[identity profile] peachykeenlife.livejournal.com 2006-07-19 07:14 pm (UTC)(link)
Hee. Wednesday is easy. I think she's only met Hakkai, and then she was like, "YOU KILLED A LOT OF PEOPLE YOU ARE AWESOME." Which as I recall made Hakkai go, "You are strange and offputting." Which didn't deter her at all, because, yes, yes she is.

Death is harder, lord. Okay.

I can't remember if she's talked much with anyone other than Hakkai and Kubota? I fail at spammage. But she "knows" Marluxia and Umeda even if she hasn't talked to them much at camp, so I'll include them.

Umeda: Hokuto's on her list of "people who've been screwed over by my sibling Desire." (It's a looooong list.) She feels a lot of sympathy for him because of how jaded he is and how he's afraid to grasp things because they might not turn out to be substantial. But she really admires his loyalty to Ryoichi, regardless of whether that loyalty is well-chosen, and she's also glad that he's let Akiha be as close as he has. So while she'd like to see Hokuto go for the whole enchilada, she's happy he's at least letting himself eat the side dishes, if you will.

Kubota: Death feels... well. Makoto is one of her people. There are people in the world who "belong" to certain Endless, and Makoto is one of hers. So she knows him, knows the sort of hollowness in his head, and... well, she loves everybody, but Makoto is just that much more special to her because of that belonging. Which is why she went out of her way to tell him Tokitoh was okay. Because whether or not Makoto's need for Tokitoh is "healthy", it's a need, and she wants him to be as happy as he can.

Hakkai: In some ways Hakkai is hers like Makoto, but in some ways he isn't. Both Hakkai and Makoto can walk into the den of thieves and clean it out but for Makoto it's like going to the 7-11 for the new products or picking up a video game: it's just something that happens. With Hakkai it's all tangled up with karma and guilt and history. Goku let Death into heaven, but Tenpou was the first to break the taboo. So Death really, really loves Hakkai because he's Hakkai and he's a little bit hers because of everything he's done in all his lives, but she knows it's left him broken in ways that still haunt him, and because she loves him she doesn't want to shove that in his face. (I also never feel like I'm playing Death as well as I'd like when I try to have her talk to Hakkai, so I wonder if some of this is my own discomfort as a player.)

Marluxia: I... don't know enough about Marluxia to really say yet other than the default "Death knows everything about you and LOVES YOU OKAY". So I'll update this later!

Качественный блог

[identity profile] devoraitos.livejournal.com 2011-06-07 06:47 pm (UTC)(link)
Удивительно, но факт. Ваш блог стоит дорого.Image (http://site-sex-znakomstva.ru/)

Спасибо за информацию

[identity profile] goodwinmyj.livejournal.com 2011-06-30 11:15 pm (UTC)(link)
Хороший пост! Подчерпнул для себя много нового и интересного! Пойду ссылку другу дам в аське :)Image (http://7wp.ru/)